OREANDA-NEWS  The Belarusian authorities have imposed restrictions on the payment of dividends to citizens of certain countries that have been designated as "unfriendly". 

The decree refers to the owners of shares in Belarusian companies who are citizens of countries that have taken "unfriendly actions" against Belarus, its citizens, and organizations. These countries include Australia, Canada, Liechtenstein, Norway, New Zealand, Albania, Iceland, North Macedonia, Montenegro, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

However, it is still possible for the Belarusian company to receive dividends for foreign shareholders, provided that they have received permission from the relevant authorities. This permission is issued on a case-by-case basis, and is subject to certain criteria.

In the event of a refusal from the authorities, the profits and dividends will be deposited in bank accounts with special operating conditions. The transfer of such funds to foreign recipients will take place after the expiration of the decision of the authorities, which will come into effect on April 24th and will remain in effect until December 31st, 2025.