OREANDA-NEWS The Turkish newspaper "Karar" wrote that 10 Russian regions are autonomous Turkic republics that do not have independence. Dagestan and Kabardino-Balkaria were among them.

Also, according to the editorial board of the publication, the autonomous Turkic republics are Tatarstan, Bashkiria, Yakutia, Chuvashia, Altai Krai, the Republics of Khakassia, Tuva, Karachay-Cherkessia.

In addition, the material indicates seven currently independent Turkic republics: Turkey, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, as well as the unrecognized Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The Turkish newspaper noted that the former republics of the Soviet Union were autonomous countries within the borders of the USSR.

The publication also listed the autonomous regions inhabited by Turkic peoples: Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, Gagauzia (an autonomous territorial entity within Moldova), Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic (an exclave of the Republic of Azerbaijan), Karakalpakstan (an autonomous republic within Uzbekistan).

"Karar" is not the only Turkish newspaper that has written about the Turkic lands. A similar article was published in the publication "Yeniçağ".