OREANDA-NEWS. The EU sanctions will affect individuals who voted for the decision to recognize the Lugansk and Donetsk People's Republics, as well as organizations operating in these regions. This was announced during a briefing in Brussels by the official representative of the European Commission, Eric Mamer, RIA Novosti reports.

“This is different from the package of sanctions that were adopted on Crimea [in 2014]. This package of sanctions will also be directed against organizations that operate in these regions,” he explained.

According to Bloomberg, in connection with the recognition of the Donbass republics, EU diplomats are discussing the possibility of imposing sanctions on 351 State Duma deputies and 11 Russians who proposed this initiative.

At the same time, the EU has already supported sanctions against the commanders of the Russian forces in the DPR and LPR, and also discussed sanctions against two Russian banks and financing of Russia's sovereign debt.

On February 21, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed orders recognizing the independence of the Donetsk and Lugansk People's Republics. The heads of the republics Denis Pushilin and Leonid Pasechnik addressed the corresponding request.

Earlier, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz said that sanctions in response to Russia's recognition of the Donetsk and Luhansk People's Republics would be adopted during the day.