OREANDA-NEWS. Turkish authorities suspend flights with a number of states due to the spread of new strains of coronavirus. This is stated in the statement of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the country.

“Air traffic with Bangladesh, Brazil, Nepal, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa has been suspended from July 1 until further notice. Direct flights from these countries to Turkey will be prohibited,” the Turkish ministry said in a statement released on Monday 28 June.

It is noted that citizens who have arrived in Turkey who have been in these countries within the last 14 days before arrival must provide a negative PCR test, made a maximum of 72 hours before entering the republic.

"After that, they will be quarantined for 14 days," the ministry said in a statement.

Russia resumed flights with Turkey on June 22.

At the same time, Russian Deputy Prime Minister Tatyana Golikova on June 24 recommended that Russians be vaccinated against coronavirus with at least one component of the drug before traveling abroad.

Meanwhile in Turkey, the country is afraid of another "closure" of the direction or the introduction of serious restrictions on departure - for example, a vaccine qualification. So far, Turkey has been extremely loyal to Russian tourists, even more favorably than the authorities of internal Russian resorts - you can enter the country with both a vaccination certificate and a PCR test. At the same time, the resorts of the Russian Krasnodar Territory have been trying to introduce a "tough" regime since August, allowing tourists to settle in only with a vaccination certificate.