OREANDA-NEWS. 141 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 11th to 17th July 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages, 5 villages belong to Arunachal Pradesh , 56 in Meghalaya, 31  in Assam, 4 in Mizoram, 3 in Jharkhand,9 in Rajasthan ,3 in Madhya Pradesh , 23 in Odisha and 5 in Bihar, 1 each in  Himachal Pradesh and Tripura.

8,960 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 8,995 villages, 497 villages are uninhabitated. 6,009 villages are to be electrified through grid,2,657 villages to be electrified through off-grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 329 villages are to be electrified by State Govt .

 Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 7,306 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 17th July, 2016.   In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.