OREANDA-NEWS The regime of restrictions on flights to 11 airports in the southern and central parts of Russia has been extended until July 12, 2022, a representative of the Federal Air Transport Agency told RBC.

The restrictions apply to flights to the airports of Anapa, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Gelendzhik, Krasnodar, Kursk, Lipetsk, Rostov-on-Don, Simferopol and Elista.

The Agency proposed using the airports of Sochi, Volgograd, Mineralnye Vody, Stavropol and Moscow as an alternative.

Rosaviatsia restricted flights to airports in southern and central Russia on February 24, when Russia launched a military operation in Ukraine. The agency recognized the air zone near the Russian-Ukrainian border as unsafe for civilian aircraft and extended the ban 21 times during the hostilities. The last restrictions were in effect until July 6.

During the restriction regime, Russian Railways introduced additional trains from Adler, Anapa, Novorossiysk, Sochi and other cities in southern Russia, and also increased the number of seats on trains. The Ministry of Transport has created a temporary hub on the basis of Sochi Airport.

Despite the promise of the authorities to compensate for the stoppage of air traffic with the help of rail and road transport, tourists partially refused summer bookings in Crimea, including on vouchers for children's recreation and recreation, the presidential plenipotentiary mission in the Southern Federal District reported at the end of May.