OREANDA-NEWS. December 10, 2013. Andrei Bougrov, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors and deputy general director for GR and investor relations of MMC Norilsk Nickel, was awarded the VIII National Director of the Year prize  in Independent Director nomination.

Andrey Bougrov is an independent member of the Board of Directors of RusHydro and the prize was awarded for his contribution towards development and implementation of the best practices relevant to the work of RusHydro’s Board of Directors and for his significant influence on corporate governance development in Russia.

Pavel Platov, Corporate Secretary of MMC Norilsk Nickel, was awarded the prize in Corporate Governance Director/ Corporate Secretary nomination.

When receiving the reward, Andrei Bougrov noted that praise received from professional community is more valuable than any other. Pavel Platov, on the other hand noted that the prize he received was the result of the work performed by the entire management team and the Board of Directors.

National Director of the Year prize was first introduced in 2006. The event is organized by Association of Independent Directors and Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs in partnership with PwC and Moscow Stock Exchange.

The award ceremony was held during the III National Corporate Governance Forum. The award is intended to mark winner’s personal contribution to corporate governance development and promote proliferation of advanced standards and practices relevant to work of the Boards of Directors of Russian Companies.